Don’t Know Why I Didn’t Come by Norah Jones

I love the part that goes

Out across the endless sea
I will die in ecstasy
But I’ll be a bag of bones
driving down the road alone.

I don’t think she’s talking about diving into the waves and swimming until her arms and legs give out. No. The sea alludes to the phrase, “There are many fish in the sea.” The narrator is talking about how she can go and be with many men (or women) but she won’t find anyone to be with her when she dies (bag of bones).

I know I’ve been absent. No good excuse. The hours and days went to studying for a summer class that I underestimated. Also, I’ve been learning to play guitar. I’ll have a post every day to make up for it. I’ve actually been jotting a lot of notes and reading during study breaks. And I had many drafts on here before I stopped posting. I’ll be putting those up as well as the notes from my notebook.

Leave a Reply

