“Yeah, I been claimed by the wind and the rain” –from the song Scattered Leaves

Scattered Leaves written by Jeremy Lindsey and performed by The Be Good Tanyas (one of my favorite bands)!

Each line is a jewel in this crown of a song. Why did I quote “wind and the rain”? It seems to me that I’ve been attracted to the use of weather-related things in literature. I get really excited when I see something that uses rain to convey the idea of moving on. I suppose that seeing these things and “getting it” is like being let in on a secret…understood by a few. Elitist–maybe. But there’s also a sense of humility that comes with it because you know that it’s nothing new. Other people beat you to it. And you idolize them. I suppose it also makes one ask the question, “So what’s next?” How do you build on top of this artistry?

2 thoughts on ““Yeah, I been claimed by the wind and the rain” –from the song Scattered Leaves

Leave a Reply

