“…on the bridge…there’s nothing but the rain…” –Avril Lavigne

I’m not a fan of Avril Lavigne. However, I love this song. The first few lines are my favorite.

“I’m standin’ on the bridge
I’m waitin’ in the dark
I thought that you’d be here by now
There’s nothing but the rain
No footsteps on the ground
I’m listening but there’s no sound”

I don’t know if she intended it (or if she wrote the lyrics), but the use of “rain” is brilliant. I mentioned before that rain (and other forms of precipitation) stands for turning-points, new beginnings, etc. The imagery in this stanza is ironic because there’s rain and she’s standing “on the bridge” but nothing amazing or life-changing has happened. She’s waiting for this guy (she doesn’t even know who he is…possibly just an “ideal guy”) but he hasn’t materialied.

my other blog post where rain was mentioned–it’s about one of Ryan Adams’s songs

Full lyrics to “I’m With You”

For more on the symbolism of precipitation in literature, please see Thomas C. Foster’s book How To Read Literature Like a Professor. I would tell you the chapter, but I left the book at my apartment. I’m sure it’s in the table of contents.

Leave a Reply

