“I taught myself to grow old without any love and there was poison in the rain” –Ryan Adams

Word. Nah, I didn’t go through enough hardship. But powerful words. I wish I went through a hardship hard enough to be able to say that I can relate to these lines. Or maybe I’ll bite my tongue later for writing that.

BBC session! So good. The Cardinals.

Full Lyrics

Poor little rose, beaten by the rain
In the wind in the gale, thunder and the hail
Sometimes I feel like I’m going insane
Without the numbness or the pain so intense to feel
‘Specially now it added up through the years

Damn. Damnnn. Such poetry. Oh by the way…rain! Precipitation in literature yet again. He even has hail in this one.

Anyway, I think the lyrics are pretty straightforward. Poison in the rain for me means that no matter what change brings, the guy can’t seem to catch a break. Rain as a representation of change because it symbolizes new beginnings…spring…growth…new start. But there’s poison in the rain that hinders him from growing well. And the rain is a part of a storm “wind in the gale, thunder and the hail.”

Leave a Reply

