Beat poem “Storm” by Tim Minchin

I’m not sure where the lines break but here’s my favorite part with my guess as to where the punctuation belongs:

“I am a tiny, insignificant ignorant bit of carbon. I have one life that is short unimportant but thanks to recent scientific advances I get to live twice as long as my great great great great uncles and auntses. Twice as long…to live this life of mine, twice as long to love this wife of mine, twice as many years of friends and wine…of sharing curries and getting shitty at good looking hippies with fairies on their spines and butterflies on their titties.

….And if perchance I have offended, think but this and all is mended. Might as well be ten minutes back in time for all the chance you’ll change your mind.”

Quite simply wanted to say that I think the poem is ironic because so much of the content is about rationality and anti-subjectivity but the ending itself is about romanticism. I like it.

December 22, 2014. Wait, what did I write?

Leave a Reply

