“Rolling in the deep…” –Adele

For some reason, every time I hear this phrase, I keep thinking of dirty water. Rolling in the deep….of dirty, knee-high water. Splashing around throwing fists at each other. It’s probably a stretch but the tears from “tears are gonna fall” could be the source of the dirty, filthy, knee-high water where the heartbreaker had her heart inside of his hand and he played it to the beat.

“There’s a fire starting in my heart,
Reaching a fever pitch and it’s bringing me out the dark
Finally, I can see you crystal clear.
Go ahead and sell me out and-a I’ll lay your ship bare.”

It’s great how one word can change this phrase. I first thought that you can put “of” somewhere in there so it’ll sound “bringing me out OF the dark” and then I realized that it makes this phrase lose its ambiguity.

“…bringing me out the dark”

can mean 2 things:

  1. the fire reaching a fever pitch is helping her to see the situation clearly…hence the next line is “Finally, I can see you crystal clear.”
  2. the fire, the anger, pent up inside her is making her go to her dark side, reaching bitchyness she never knew she had. This idea goes along with the echoed part of the song “You’re gonna wish you never had met me.”

It’s probably deliciously both at once.

2 thoughts on ““Rolling in the deep…” –Adele

Leave a Reply

