“All my life I’ve been rushed into the darkness with a gun to my head trying to find a peaceful song.” –Ryan Adams

I went to the 2014 Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival in San Francisco’s Golden Gate Park. It was amazing. Saw Ryan Adams play and one of the favorites had to be Peaceful Valley. One of the first things that amazed me was his use of falsetto throughout the song. It’s a very nice and fitting aesthetic for the song but it seems that he has only recently started singing it this way.

Here’s a live recording of him with how he sings Peaceful Valley now.

I can’t seem to find any studio versions of it. What a shame. Great song. I think it first came out in 2005 with the Jacksonville City Lights album. He also recorded it with The Cardinals.

Cause all my life, I’ve longed for forgiveness
But I can never seem to get enough
All my life I’ve been rushed into the darkness
With a gun to my head
Trying to find a peaceful song

Leave a Reply

