“Yes I know, yes I know where all them good intentions go.” –Brother Grand

Goosebumps. This video does not do them justice. I recently saw them at The Starry Plough in Berkeley, CA and they definitely delivered something magical.

Honestly, they were so mesmerizing and I am so glad I saw them at such an intimate venue. I think the acoustics in the Plough made the loop effects sound so much more effective. Not surprised to learn that they played at Coachella in 2013.

When I’m alone in the night and I can’t be free
When that sun goes down and takes the best of me
Well I’ll rise and shine and try to leave it all behind
But I know, yes I now, where all them good intentions go.
Yes I now, yes I know where all them good intentions go.
Everything I do and all that I say
only seems to push all the good ones away.
The harder I try, the further down I go…

I couldn’t quite catch the end of the phrase there.
I’m gonna go and play some haunting violin to this in my bedroom now.

I tagged this as lyrics analysis: Quite simply, for me this song had a lot to do with trying to be good and positive but failing to do so. We’ve all had those days when you’re giving it your all and it’s just not working out. Songs like this make it worth living through the struggle. Thanks, Brother Grand.

Leave a Reply

